Day 01 – Too Damn Long

Day 01 – A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just freaking end already (or both!)

Naomi Novik’s Temeraire Series

This choice may come off as a bit unfair, since I enjoyed the three titles I’ve read so far (His Majesty’s Dragon, Throne of Jade, Black Powder War) and I can sort of see the appeal of an extended narrative within this universe. But my enjoyment has steadily diminished with each subsequent book, mostly because there’s an accumulation of instances that seem iffy or problematic.

They are very fannish books, in that they invite readers to fill in the blanks in terms of Laurence and Temeraire’s motivations and their interactions with the minor characters, but I guess that the thing that make them less enjoyable to me as time wears on. I keep expecting a complete narrative within a single book, where overarching themes and repercussions are pretty much laid out by the end of the novel. And there are times in Black Powder War where I feel like the narration already boils down to minutiae, perhaps because Naomi Novik is trying to stretch out the characterization over several books.

I guess if it was a trilogy or a quadrilogy, it would’ve been fine, but nine books, I feel, is stretching it.

One thought on “Day 01 – Too Damn Long

Leave a Reply

