Day 07 – Annoying Plot Devices

Day 07 – Least favorite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise

This will be brief because I’m exhausted today, sorry. One of my biggest pet peeves in reading are POV changes within a single scene when it’s done for no reason. This is different from an Omniscient Point of View where the narrator is a naturally freewheeling voice, like in old Victorian novels. These POV shifts frustrate me the most when it comes to romance novels because the thing that makes the angst compelling for me is insecurity and doubt. I just feel that this device is the lazy way to write. I wish you would stop doing this, Johanna Lindsey. ;_;

Note: I don’t mind changes in POV after the scene or a chapter has finished. Within a scene, however, it gives me whiplash.

One thought on “Day 07 – Annoying Plot Devices

Leave a Reply

