Oneshot Webcomics

I obviously enjoy several serial webcomics. However, one of the big drawbacks in following a work in progress is that the payoff of a satisfying ending doesn’t happen for a long, long while. That’s why I appreciate folks who try their hand at one-shots. A particularly brilliant one is Emily Carroll’s Face All Red. A creepy, lurking animal of a tale, it was originally published around Halloween last year but I read the first few panels and decided to put off finishing the whole thing until the Christmas season. Believe me when I say that that is high praise.

Blue Delliquanti’s 24-hour project called Metamorphosis is the adaptation of a segment from Radiolab (my current obsession!). His drawing style lends itself very well to the poignancy of the original audio piece. I also love how he did everything within 24 hours.

If you have any suggestions for great one-shot webcomics, don’t hesitate to tell me! I’m always on the lookout for more.

Leave a Reply

