Day 13 – Childhood favorite

Day 13 ā€“ Favorite childhood book OR current favorite YA book (or both!)

Roald Dahl’s Matilda

I should by myself a copy of this book now that I’m older. I first read this in the school library, and essentially became entranced by the way Roald Dahl’s paints a vivid picture of childhood. There’s a mixture of baldfaced credibility in the stories, despite being totally implausible.

As someone who constantly escape into books, I really love the way Matilda’s inner life was depicted, how she sought refuge in books because of an unhappy family life. I also loved how Dahl didn’t shy away from showing the awful things that kids usually experience at a young age, like the fear of bullying and the general certainty that the rest of the world is constantly hiding things from you because of your age.

That does it, I’m buying myself a special edition of Roald Dahl books soonish.

One thought on “Day 13 – Childhood favorite

Leave a Reply

