Day 14 – Favorite foppish wizard

Day 14 – Favorite character in a book

Jonathan Strange from Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell

I have already written about some of my favorite characters in my previous meme entries (Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey, Chabon’s Sam Klayman, Frances Hardinge’s Mosca Mye). Jonathan Strange and his quest to save the woman he loves is the driving force behind Susanna Clarke’s sprawling doorstopper of a debut novel.

In the book, I loved the anecdotes of Strange gallivanting around Europe trying to help the English forces defeat Napoleon. He is made of both genius and madness, a man who managed to show up Lord Byron. Just when you have him pegged as a dandy seduced by the prospect of magic but who is ultimately not taking it seriously, a personal tragedy adds layers to his character.

3 thoughts on “Day 14 – Favorite foppish wizard

  1. I’ve had my copy of Jonathan Strange since 2007 and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I think I may have put it off because of the novel’s length but I’ve heard really good things about it.

    If I had to name my favorite foppish wizard, I’d probably go with Howl of Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.

    • I think Jonathan Strange is the kind of book where the reader needs to invest a solid chunk of time. I tried to read it non-stop for about a week and I found that small distractions can throw you off the narrative.

      My good friend is a big Diana Wynne Jones fan! She really likes Christopher Chant. I have a couple of books by DWJ but I haven’t gotten around reading them too. My TBR pile is woefully high.

Leave a Reply

