Day 15 – Your comfort book

Day 15 – Your “comfort” book

Maria Isabel Garcia’s Science Solitaire: Essays on Science, Nature, and Becoming Human

This is a collection of columns Maria Isabel Garcia has written for The Philippine Star over the years. Here’s a more recent example. Despite my declaration that I never reread books, this one is perfect for a reader looking to dip into short bursts of reflection about the wonders and possibilities of science. I’ve come to appreciate science writing more after reading this book a couple of years ago. In fact, part of my reading list right now is Mary Roach’s Stiff and Oliver Sacks’sThe Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat.

Maria Isabel Garcia is also a wonderful and fascinating woman, something I found out for myself after meeting her for a Read or Die event. For a writer who is a scientist by profession, her prose has a lightness to it that renders the discussion of intellectual pursuits (she routinely talks about quantum physics and–dun dun dun–MATH) more engaging. I can trace a straight line from my current fascination with Radiolab to the little sparks of curiosity lit up in my head by this book.

An aside: Holy crap, why is this book priced at 30 dollars on Amazon? D:

3 thoughts on “Day 15 – Your comfort book

  1. I’ve also met her a few times and she really is such a lively and interesting person. I haven’t read her column but your review makes me expect to read something fascinating, quirky yet lucid from her.

    • You should definitely check out Science Solitaire! The first few columns talks about the reason why she started the column (she actually took over for her husband who was suffering from cancer and who passed away later on). It’s a very touching and human portrait of a scientist looking at contemporary Pinoy life.

Leave a Reply

