More mysteries than you can shake a stick at

First of all, I want to say hello to the good folks who wandered to this blog via Filipino Book Bloggers. Having a ready-made directory of book blogs by Filipinos warms my small, bibliophilic heart.

When it comes to reading challenges, I think the word I’m looking for is “masochism.” Aside from the A to Z Challenge I’ve already talked about, I’ve also signed up for two mystery-centric challenges. The first one is the Cruisin’ thru the Cozies Reading Challenge over at Socrates’ Book Reviews. Wikipedia characterizes cozies as “a subgenre of crime fiction in which sex and violence are downplayed or treated humourously.” I have long professed a fondness for Dorothy Sayers and I think this is a great opportunity to branch out on the subgenre.

I have chosen the Level 2 of the challenge, so that means I need to finish 7-12 cozies, I’ll be updating this this tentative list as I progress:

1. Mary Roberts Rinehart – The Window at the White Cat
2. Julie Hyzy – State of the Onion
3. Agatha Christie – Murder on the Orient Express
4. Donna Leon – Through a Glass, Darkly
5. Ruth Rendell – A Guilty Thing Surprised
6. Julie Hyzy – Hail to the Chef
7. Ellis Peters – A Morbid Taste for Bones

How could I resist such a gloriously punny title?

The next challenge is Suspense, Mystery, and Crime: A Whodunit Reading Challenge at Gathering Books. I’ve chosen the Level 3 challenge this time (6-8 books) and this is the perfect time for me to revisit and actually finish some mysteries I’ve put down because of my awful attention span. Like I said, this list is also subject to revision:

1. Andrea Camillieri – The Shape of Water
2. Anne Perry – Half Moon Street
3. Matt Beynon Rees – The Collaborator of Bethlehem
4. Andrea Camilleri – The Terra-Cotta Dog
5. Caleb Carr – The Alienist

I’m not counting the mystery books I’ve already read so far this year, because what’s the fun in that? Together with the the A to Z challenge, I’m hoping these would propel me further to my goal of finishing at least 50 books this year. I’ve become a hideously slow writer lately, so 50 is a nice round number for me. I’m currently tackling Les Miserables, a whopper of a book. I think interspersing my read with cozies will be my gameplan.

7 thoughts on “More mysteries than you can shake a stick at

  1. Hi there.
    Ok, I’m very intrigue by your Mystery list. I’ve been meaning to read Raymond Chandler, Sarah Waters and Iain Pears. Then again, I’m sure sooner of later I’ll get there.
    Thanks for joining our challenge. Good luck on the challenge. :)

  2. I’ll be looking forward to your review of Julie Hyzy’s books. I was torn between getting this and another title of hers; I ended up getting her Grace Under Pressure instead. Do let me know if I should give this one a read!

    • Will do! I’m intrigued by food-based mysteries anyway but the added bonus of the White House setting is too much to resist. I’m looking forward to your review of Grace Under Pressure. :D

    • Can I just say how much I love these mystery reading challenges? It’s been wet and cold in Aklan. Lovely weather for a good mystery. :P Grace Under Pressure is part of my Whodunit Reading Challenge but right now I’m in the middle of writing a review for one book (an Indian mystery) and reading another (an Elizabeth Peters one).

Leave a Reply

