Monday Bullet Points – The Pretty Pictures Edition

♛ The illustration above is of Ray Bradbury, my favorite writer (probably) of all-time, done for his 90th birthday. Illustrator Lou Romano has made a fascinating blog post detailing his drawing process. It’s especially cool how he drew Bradbury as the Illustrated Man, echoing one of his most famous characters.

♛ If you haven’t read High Chair’s 13th Issue, stop what you’re doing and read a poem or essay right now. In my opinion, they’re among the Filipino writers pushing our literature to a more challenging place.

♛ The Guardian’s book blog my reliable go-to site for literary news and their second installment of ten rules for writing fiction is particularly lovely.

♛ As an unqualified fan of Emily Carroll‘s work, I am especially thrilled to find out about her work with Picture Book Report. It’s a collective of illustrators who render scenes from different books using delightfully unique drawing styles. I’m particularly charmed by John Martz’s drawings for The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

♛ Its name alone would qualify this blog as the best in the world, but Hey Oscar Wilde! It’s Clobberin’ Time! also hosts awesome portraits of various writers and literary characters.

♛ I’m a bitter-ender kind of a gal when it comes to reading books and it always rankles me when I give up on a novel in the middle. Sonya Chung’s It’s Not You, It’s Me: Breaking Up With Books is a small measure of comfort, knowing that I’m not alone with my book abandonment issues.

Leave a Reply

