Want Books: A Visit from the Goon Squad

Something for Chachic’s Want Books? meme:

I wanted to read Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad even before she won the National Book Critic’s Award (and was subsequently upstaged by Jonathan Franzen). The thing that intrigued me about it is the unusual structure. I haven’t read many novels-as-linked-stories and the reviews are glowing from what I’ve read. I haven’t seen any copies of it around bookstores however, but I haven’t been looking that hard. I’m also holding out on buying it because I have Egan’s earlier book, Look At Me, which so far remains unread.

So yes, I want but can’t have Goon Squad because I’m too slow a reader.

In other news, literary March Madness has also reached children’s books. Aside from the The Morning News’ Tournament of Books, I am now also following School Library Journal’s Battle of the Kids’ Books. Again, I haven’t read any of the books mentioned here except Barry Deutsch’s Hereville: How Mirka Got Her Sword, a charming graphic novel that was originally published online. I do love me some well-intentioned competition though, especially ones that lead to fascinating discussions of books.

3 thoughts on “Want Books: A Visit from the Goon Squad

  1. Yay, thanks for making a Want Books post. I hope you find a copy of this in local bookstores. You can always call any Fully Booked branch and ask them what branches have possible copies and then call up those branches to check – that’s what I do. Or if it’s not locally available, I order copies from the Book Depository.

    • I may just try out the Book Depository for this book, actually. But I’ll probably put it off until next month because I’ve been stocking up on books recently. ;_;

Leave a Reply

