Reading List for 2012: Doorstoppers

I still have a ton of book reviews to write and post! .-.

In an attempt to improve my stamina when it comes to reading long novels, I’ve decided to focus on reading one doorstopper every month. That doesn’t mean I won’t be reading other books but sufficed to say, these twelve are my focus. To make this project more interesting I will also try to write journal-like commentary every 100 pages or so. I was inspired by what Angus of Book Rhapsody is doing when he reads large tomes. It’ll be interesting to note the difference in writing reactions as they happen versus my usual modus, which is to procrastinateruminate on a book after it is finished and encapsulating my thoughts in 500 or so words. The list is mostly set since I own most of these, but they are not listed in chronological order.

1. Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel (653 pages) – Diary entries: 1st, 2nd, 3rd
2. Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie (647 pages) – Diary entries: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th
3. The Pillars of Earth, Ken Follett (976 pages – Not purchased yet)
4. The Tree of Smoke, Denis Johnson (613 pages)
5. The Tale of Genji, Murasaki Shikibu (1182 pages)
6. The War at the End of the World, Mario Vargas Llosa (750 pages)
7. The Mandarins, Simone de Beauvoir (736 pages)
8. Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes (1072 pages)
9. Life Mask, Emma Donoghue (650 pages)
10. The Brothers Karamazov, Fyodor Dostoevsky (974 pages)
11. Drood by Dan Simmons (771 pages)
12. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami (613 pages – haven’t purchased yet)

I’ll be typing up my thoughts on Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall either tonight or tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Reading List for 2012: Doorstoppers

    • Yes I do! I’m actually reading historical fiction–Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. I admit being intimidated by 1,000+ pages of the editions on Goodreads, ahaha. Did you like it? :)

  1. thick choices, not only page-wise, but content-wise, i have tree of smoke, too, but is yet to really read into it, because i am still finishing saramago and tolstoy. and wind-up bird, my first murakami read. the quest motif is always elaborate :)

    • Yeah, I wanted to stretch myself when it comes to entertaining dense ideas as well. Saramago and Tolstoy are authors I would like to read. Which Saramago are you reading? Tolstoy I’m thinking I should try after scaling the Mt. Everest that is Dostoevsky, heh.

      So far I’ve read two Murakami books (Norwegian Wood and South of the Border, West of the Sun) but I’ve been told by a friend who is also a Murakami enthusiast that those two are actually kind of outliers because of their realism.

  2. saramago’s blindess, and anna karenina. haha, that one was good, and perhaps a sort of inspiration: when you have finished a dostoevsky, you can pretty much finish any body else. although, swallowing, consumption and excretion of what they say are different things. oh that is sort of interesting, murakami writing under realism, or perhaps he was above it. :) i’d wonder how it would look like.

Leave a Reply

